City of Nanaimo Announces 2016 Culture & Heritage Award Recipients

City of Nanaimo Announces 2016 Culture & Heritage Award Recipients

February 02, 2016

Four individuals are being recognized for their significant contributions to making Nanaimo a culturally vibrant city. 

The City of Nanaimo‘s annual Culture & Heritage Awards honour the best of Nanaimo’s culture and heritage, while showcasing a variety of Nanaimo’s own local talent. The 2016 award recipients were approved by Nanaimo City Council on January 18, 2016.

The 2016 award recipients are as follows:

Excellence in Culture Award, recognizing an organization or individual that has achieved regional and/or national recognition in the field of arts and culture, is presented to Susan Juby, for her outstanding body of work, her commitment to her craft, and her unflagging support of her students at VIU and her community.

Honour in Culture Award, presented to an individual, group or corporation that is known for their dedication and support of the development of the cultural fabric of Nanaimo, goes to Debbie Trueman, for her efforts to raise awareness and deliver guidance, support, and professionalism in her role of the Nanaimo Museum for the past 25 years. 

Emerging Cultural Leader Award, recognizing up-and-coming, Nanaimo-based cultural leaders, is presented to Alyssa Glassford, for her work on numerous community art projects. Her work can be seen in Wisteria Lane, Cappy Yates Park and throughout downtown Nanaimo.

John Thomson Heritage Memorial Award, honouring individuals who demonstrate outstanding heritage service and dedication to the community, is presented to John Hofman. Mr. Hofman sat on the City of Nanaimo’s Heritage Commission for 18 years and for more than a decade volunteered a dedicated effort to saving the Morden Mine. 

“These awards recognize the best of Nanaimo’s arts and cultural volunteers and creative talent,” said Mayor Bill McKay in a news release. “The work of these dedicated volunteers and professionals contributes to a sense of cultural vitality and pride within our community.” 

The public awards ceremony will take place at the Port Theatre in Nanaimo on April 13, 2016. Tickets and ceremony details will be advertised prior to the event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *